Summer Brew Fest Recap

I’ve gotta say the crowd was the highlight at the 4th annual Summer Brew Fest. It was agreat chance to hang out with friends and meet some great people.  It felt more like an awesome block party than a beer festival.

There were a couple beers that blew me away, but for the most part there wasn’t much that was new to me.  But, then again, I generally enjoy beer festivals with themes like big beers or sours.  One highlight was Grand Lake’s scotch ale, Plaid Bastard.  I had seen it around, but Friday was my first taste.  It’s peaty smoky flavor reminds me of a good Islay scotch, and as it warms to room temperature more flavors of nuts and molasses come out.  Another pleasant surprise was O’Dell’s Double Pilsner.  I couldn’t pick out much other than some floral notes (it was a little later in the night), but it was perfectly balanced, a great summer beer.

Overall, I had a great time and would definitely go again next year, with slightly lower expectations on having my mind and taste buds blown.  Thank you, to the 1500 friends who were there enjoying the festivities, I’m looking forward to seeing you again.  Perhaps at GABF in September.

If you want to check out some more pics from the event take a look at  my flickr page, http://www.flickr.com/photos/kellbenson/

This entry was posted in Beer Festivals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

